Pioneer Family Of The Year

The People

Pioneer Family Of The Year 2018-02-17T11:18:28+00:00

Pioneer Family Of The Year

Bixby Historical Society sponsors the Pioneer Family of the Year Award. The honored family is presented at the annual Pioneer Breakfast held in conjunction with the Bixby Green Corn Festival.

Criteria for Pioneer Family of the Year is based upon the family’s longevity & continued residence in the area and their significant contribution to the growth and development of Bixby. The family is chosen from a list of nominees presented by members of Bixby Historical Society. Nominees who were in the area prior to 1929 and meet the additional criteria are given first consideration.

2008 – Earnest & Frances (Claypool) Garrett

2007 – Antone & Vadie (Gates) Genoff

2006 – Othello & Hettie (Rambo) Henderson

2005 – Christopher J. & Mary L. (Robison) Mulkey

2004 – David & Dillie (Neubauer) Phillips

2003 – Emory & Stella (Scott) Moore

2002 – Elmer Grady & Ira Belle (Beene) Martin

2001 – John Roy & Ella (Gaddy) Kulp

2000 – Preston Clark & Susan (Bolton) Cox

1999 – Elmer E. & Ida (Baker) Ethridge